Board of County Commissioners

County Commissioners & Staff

COMMISSIONERS’ OFFICE STAFF: John Gentle-District 1 Commissioner, Brenda Miller-Human Resource Director, Robert Rosencrantz-District 2 Commissioner Vice Chair, Alicia Pereyda-Commissioner Programs/HR Assistant, Brian Smiley-District 3 Chair, Crystal Zieske-Clerk of the Board/Office Manager

Meet your Board of County Commissioners & Staff

Commissioner Districts

The Board of County Commissioners serves as the legislative body of the County.

The Board adopts and oversees the budget and oversees departments not under another elected official such as Public Works, Community Development, Counseling Services and Information Technology Services.

The Commissioners make policy decisions by resolution or ordinance.

The Commissioners also share seats on many local community Board of Directors such as Tri County Health, Rural Resources and Tri County Economic Development and on boards and commissions at regional and state-wide levels such as the Washington State Association of Counties and Eastern Washington Council of Governments.

The Commissioners are active advocates for the community on many issues including forest lands, water and land use issues.

The Board typically meets every Monday and Tuesday in the Courthouse located at 625 West 4th Street, Newport, WA. Meetings may also occur on Thursdays. Meetings are open to the public. Public Comment is typically scheduled at 4:00 p.m. every Monday, except on holidays. The Commissioners and their terms are listed along with their email link and contact information.

Meeting Information

Commissioners' meetings available via Zoom:;

Meeting ID: 509 447 4119 Or Dial

by your location: +1 301 715 8592 US

or +1 253 215 8782 US.

Meeting ID: 509 447 4119

For more information, visit our Meetings page.

Mailing address: PO Box 5025, Newport, WA 99156

              2023 Holiday Office Closures

New Year’s Day  (Observed)    Monday, January 2
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day       Monday, January 16
Presidents’ Day                         Monday, February 20
Memorial Day                            Monday, May 29

Juneteenth                                Monday, June 19

Independence Day                    Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day                                  Monday, September 4
Veterans Day (Observed)          Friday, November 10
Thanksgiving Day                      Thursday, November 23
Day following Thanksgiving       Friday, November 24
Christmas Eve (observed)         Friday, December 22
Christmas Day                           Monday, December 25

Board Members:

Commissioner John Gentle
John Gentle Commissioner (District 1)
Commissioner Robert Rosencrantz
Robert Rosencrantz Commissioner (District 2)
Commissioner Brian Smiley
Brian Smiley Commissioner (District 3)

Staff Contacts:

(509) 447-4119

625 W. 4th Street
PO Box 5025
Newport, WA 99156
United States

View in Google Maps

48.17772705, -117.04799017486